Home Page


Call For





Tampa Bay



Little Known


Technical Paper Submission Guidelines

Program Chair: John Vlissides, papers@oopsla.acm.org
Submissions due date: 23 March 2001
Notification of acceptance or rejection: 8 May 2001

Technical papers should present significant contributions to the study and use of object-oriented systems, languages, and applications. Contributions may be research results that advance the state of the art, or they may be experience-based accounts of best practices, comparative evaluations, or other insights gathered from practical applications. Papers having both research and experiential components are encouraged. However, if your paper comprises a case study or anecdotal experience with a system or development project, consider submitting a Practitioner Report rather than a Technical Paper.

If you are not familiar with the general nature of OOPSLA papers, you should read previous OOPSLA proceedings to see the range of presentation styles and content. Relevant topics include:

  • analysis and design methods
  • components and frameworks
  • distributed, mobile, parallel, and real-time systems
  • e-commerce and workflow applications
  • language design and implementation
  • object databases and persistence
  • objects in human-computer interaction
  • object testing and metrics
  • patterns and software architecture
  • programming environments
  • reflection and metaobject models
  • software engineering practices
  • theoretical foundations and formal methods

Accepted papers will be published in the OOPSLA 2001 Proceedings and presented during a scheduled 30 minute slot in the OOPSLA technical program. The Conference Proceedings will also be distributed as an issue of ACM SIGPLAN Notices.

For additional information, clarification, or questions, please contact the Program Chair, John Vlissides, at papers@oopsla.acm.org. See also John's answers to common questions.

Important Dates
Firm deadline for receipt of submissions: 23 March 2001
Notification of acceptance or rejection: 8 May 2001
Deadline for camera-ready copy: 19 July 2001

Format of the Submission
All papers must be submitted electronically in PDF or PostScript format (see "Submission Process" below). Final camera-ready papers must be formatted to conform to ACM Proceedings requirements: Nine point font on ten point baseline, two columns per page, each column 3.33 inches wide by 9 inches tall, with a column gutter of 0.33 inches, etc. We strongly encourage you to use this layout for initial submissions as well. See the ACM Proceedings Guidelines. You can save preparation time by using one of the templates from that page.

Submissions must be no longer than 10,000 words (not counting figures, tables, and references). Overly long papers are subject to rejection without review. Be sure that your submission displays and prints properly using commonly available PDF or PostScript viewers and printers. Submitted papers must have content that has not previously been published in, or under review by, other refereed venues.

Submission Process

Papers must be submitted no later than 23 March 2001, but earlier is strongly recommended. Papers may be modified up to the submission deadline. Please use the Technical Papers Submissions page to submit your paper.

For additional information, clarification, or questions, please contact the Program Chair, John Vlissides, papers@oopsla.acm.org.

Best Student Paper Award
This year, for the first time, OOPSLA will recognize the best student-authored paper of the conference. The Program Chair will select the winning paper among those commended by the Program Committee. The paper will be announced at the conference, and its author(s) will receive a $500 award.

Eligible papers will describe the work of one or more students, one of whom must be first author. Authors will indicate eligibility as part of the submission process.

Program Committee
John Barton, Hewlett Packard Laboratories
Robert Binder, RBSC
Toby Bloom, Domain Pharma
Craig Chambers, University of Washington
Krzysztof Czarnecki, DaimlerChrysler Research
Jim Doble, Motorola
Brian Foote, The Refactory, Inc.
Dennis Gannon, Indiana University
Giovanna Guerrini, University of Genova
Gerti Kappel, Johannes Kepler University of Linz
Joe Kiniry, California Institute of Technology
Jørgen Lindskov Knudsen, University of Aarhus
Doug Lea, SUNY Oswego
Mary Loomis, Commerce One
Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Gail Murphy, University of British Columbia
Oscar Nierstrasz, University of Berne
James Noble, Victoria University of Wellington
Bran Selic, Rational
Peter Sweeney, IBM Research
Clemens Szyperski, Microsoft Research
Rebecca Wirfs-Brock, Wirfs-Brock Associates

Back To Top