Corporate Support
Gold Supporters
IBM logo

Silver Supporters
Microsoft logo

Bronze Supporters
Google logo

Friend Supporters
HP logo

Cisco logo

Sun logo

Springer logo

John Vlissides Award

In recognition of the contributions to computer science that John Vlissides made during his short life, the OOPSLA Steering Committee, SIGPLAN, and ACM have established the annual John Vlissides Award, to be given to an outstanding doctoral student showing significant promise in software architecture and development. The award is a $2000 honorarium plus a plaque and will be presented to the winner during OOPSLA each year.

All doctoral candidates participating in the annual OOPSLA Doctoral Symposium are eligible. The award will be given to the individual showing significant promise in applied software research and the most potential for having a significant impact on the practice of software development. The selection committee will be composed of the OOPSLA Doctoral Symposium Committee, the OOPSLA Program Chair, and a representative of SIGPLAN.

To fund this award, SIGPLAN has pledged $10,000 and IBM $20,000 to initiate the endowment of this award. To secure the remaining $20,000 required to maintain this award, the OOPSLA Steering Committee is soliciting pledges to honor John Vlissides and the tradition of scholarly excellence he embodied.

Those who are interested in contributing to this award can send their contributions to:

John Vlissides Award
c/o Russell Harris, Director, Office of Financial Services
Association for Computing Machinery, Inc.
2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701
New York, NY 10121-0701